Characteristics of tectonic tractures and neotectonic movement of Côn Đảo region in Cenozoic

Chu Văn Ngợi, Nguyễn Hữu Tuyên, Phạm Thu Hiên

Côn Đảo region are composed of 16 different sized islands, of which Côn Sơn is the largest one. Côn Đảo region is a part of the Côn Sơn uplift zone and plays a role as the boundary between Cửu Long and Nam Côn Sơn basins. Côn Đảo region has two-tier structure: basement part consists mainly of intrusive rocks from mafic to felsic components belonging to the Định Quán and Đèo Cả complexes, as well as Đèo Bảo Lộc and Nha Trang Formations. The upper part consists of Pliocene - Quatemary sediments with negligible thickness. Due to the special tectonic position, lower Côn Đảo region has undergone several deformation phases with strong crushing and weathering process. Based on íĩeld researches and structural analysis in space and time, integrating and Processing collected data, the article has touched upon characteristics of tectonic fracture; stress State and tectonic movement of Côn Đảo region in Cenozoic. The results reveal 5 phases of tectonic deíbrmation which divided Côn Đảo region into 5 structural blocks and tectonic movements.

Người biên tập: TS. Lê Triều Việt.